Trial Competition April 4-7 Brings 20 Law School Teams to The John Marshall Law School in Chicago

Students from 20 law schools from around the country will test their courtroom skills in Chicago April 4 through 7, 2013, for the National Criminal Justice Trial Advocacy Competition held at The John Marshall Law School.

This is the 23rd annual competition co-sponsored by the Criminal Justice Section of the American Bar Association and The John Marshall Law School.

This year students will try the case of the state v. carlson. The fictitious case revolves around Jordan Carlson who is charged with burglary to a police department stable, and injury to one of the police department’s horses following a protest action. Teams will represent both the defense and prosecution during the competition.

More than 125 attorneys and judges, many who are John Marshall alumni, will evaluate student performances over the four-days of the competition.

Professor Susann MacLachlan, director of the Center for Advocacy and Dispute Resolution at The John Marshall Law School, said competitors will have the opportunity to use courtroom technology in their trials conducted at John Marshall.

“Students at John Marshall use technology in their courtroom presentations through several innovative classes, and we decided to offer the optional use of technology to all teams at this competition,” she explained. “In 2014, the use of technology will be mandatory.”

Teams will represent Barry University’s Dwayne O. Andreas School of Law; The Catholic University of America’s Columbus School of Law; Charlotte School of Law; Creighton University School of Law; Emory University School of Law; Florida Coastal School of Law; Fordham University School of Law; Golden Gate University School of Law.

Georgetown University Law Center; Harvard Law School; Loyola University Chicago School of Law; Michigan State University College of Law; Nova Southeastern University’s Shepard Broad Law Center; Quinnipiac University School of Law; South Texas College of Law; Stetson University College of Law.

Temple University’s James E. Beasley School of Law; University of Denver’s Sturm College of Law; University of Hawaii’s William S. Richardson School of Law; University of Missouri-Kansas City School of Law.

For additional information on this competition visit