BLSA Honors Two for Work in Support of Diversity

Honorees Professor Leonard J. Schrager (left) and David E. Neely (second from right), former assistant dean of Student Affairs, are greeted by BLSA members Jocelyn Watkins (second from left), Dibora Berhanu (center) and Jason Beasley (right).

The Glenn T. Johnson Chapter of the Black Law Students Association (BLSA) at The John Marshall Law School honored two administrators with the 2013 Legacy of Opportunity Awards.

At BLSA’s annual Legacy of Opportunity event Feb. 28, 2013, honors were presented to Professor Leonard J. Schrager and David E. Neely, former assistant dean of Student Affairs, for the work they did in establishing the Legal Education Access Program (LEAP). The program offers a means to support diversity in the legal profession by inspiring students from groups historically underrepresented in the law to become attorneys.

LEAP was developed when Schrager was dean of the law school and Neeley was on staff as assistant dean. The program was designed to increase diversity in the student population and give participants assistance and support during their law school careers.

The awards were presented by Joycelyn Watkins, BLSA president; Dibora Berhanu, BLSA vice president; and Jason Beasley, BLSA treasurer.

BLSA also welcomed special guests Quintin Saffold, BLSA advocate general, and Circuit Court of Cook County Chief Judge Timothy Evans (JD ’69) to the annual event.